PDFCreator and mybrowserbar.com (Adware!)
Hi!
If you have recently encountered a weird behavior within your browser (I only know of Firefox because that's what I use), chances are that Adware has been installed onto your computer.
When I was looking for a picture on my own website and I mistyped the URL, I noticed that immediately after it showed me my custom 404 page, I was redirected to a domain called mybrowserbar.com. The URL was:
http://www.mybrowserbar.com/cgi/errors.cgi?q=[404URL]&type=404&ISN=[funkystring32]&ccv=130&cnid=302398&cco=US&ct=12
with [404URL] as the wrong URL. [funkystring32] seemed to be some kind of MD5 string (32 characters, 0-9, A-F), maybe a unique identifier.
After searching the internet for a couple of minutes, I read a thread on the official Avira forums. In it it was explained that PDFCreator comes with an Adware called "Search Settings Plugin" that installs and enables itself in Firefox. Luckily, being a normal addon, the problem was quickly solved from there: Tools => AddOns => Extensions => Search Settings Plugin => Uninstall/Disable.
I can only shake my head at things like this.
There has also been discussion on the official pdfforge (PDFCreator) forums about this:
http://www.pdfforge.org/files/old_forum/2903.html
Thanks to the people at the official Avira forums! Oh, and nevertheless, in all honesty: thanks to pdfforge for providing such a nice tool. I have the feeling it's gonna be of great help to me in the future
Source: http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=895237
Pages
Calendar
Recent Posts
- Using Different Color Schemes with Vim
- New Old Blog URL
- Detecting the Linux Distribution / Version
- Blocking the Facebook Like Button via Adblock Plus
- Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 and the Long Loading Splash
Archives
- January 2012
- June 2011
- May 2011
- June 2010
- April 2010
- January 2010
- October 2009
- September 2009
- August 2009
- July 2009
- June 2009